Its been a while

But I am still here and still knitting. And occasionally making jewellery but my current fave is knitting. I have been busy, I just havent taken photos but I do plan to put that right.

So the first project I want to show off is the cardi I made for my mums birthday. It is the first cabled project I have ever done and I was very surprised by how easy and non fiddly it was, non fiddly is good when you have an attention span as miniscule as mine.

The pattern is from Simply Knitting magazine issue 55, June 2009. The yarn is 2 ply baby alpaca knit on 4mm needles to give it a lovely airy feeling.

IMG_0418

The cables run straight up the front, 2 either side of the buttons and have a lacy bit between them

IMG_0419

I replaced the suggested black beads around the neckline with 4mm freshwater pearl nuggets, you can see the lace panel better on this one

IMG_0420

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dressingmyself
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 13:34:01

    That’s really pretty, but it looks as if it took ages to knit! Of course, you could be amazingly quick with the needles. Your mum should be delighted.

    Reply

    • gigglinggoblin
      Sep 03, 2009 @ 18:49:30

      Thank you! It did take a while but its easier than it looks, the lovely yarn knit on too big needles gives a brill effect for very little effort🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

