My latest obsession

is knitting with wire. Its just lovely. Unfortunately its very hard to photograph. This is my first go, its 2 strands of 0.2 mm wire (one green, one gold) and tiny pearl seed beads knitted using 4mm needles. Its large enough for a chunky cuff bracelet.

See what I mean about the photo? It reminds me of mistletoe, the beads are just like berries and the green and gold is very christmassy. My friend described it as pretty chainmail.

I have also made a choker using thicker wire which makes it quite substantial. I havent measured it but its about 5 or 6cm tall and rather stiff. This is pink wire and amethyst chips, the clasp I made myself from silver plated wire. The photo shows the back so the clasp is on display.

Leave a Reply

